NEW ADMINISTRATIVE STRUCTURE

OF THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION

The present Government of Thailand has adopted a policy of **bureaucratic reform** so as to have in place an efficient administrative system with a lean structure. The new system is suitable to the prevailing situation and responsive to the needs for national economic and social development. Urgent measures have therefore been taken for enactment of the legislations for streamlining the different ministries and agencies to attune to global trends as well as the national economic and social changes. The recent bureaucratic reform focuses on obtaining a **leaner organization** and attaining **higher efficiency**. It allows greater participation of the people as well as the society. New budgeting techniques are availed of, serving as tools for moving forward the bureaucratic reform. The remuneration system which also includes salaries has been improved so as to attract professional civil servants of integrity who are entirely devoted to the common interest.

Such policy has resulted in the restructuring of the different ministries and agencies. With effect from October 1, 2002, the national administration is under the aegis of 20 different ministries as follows:

- 1. Office of the Prime Minister
- 2. Ministry of Defence
- 3. Ministry of Finance
- 4. Ministry of Foreign Affairs
- 5. Ministry of Tourism and Sports
- 6. Ministry of Social Development and Human Security
- 7. Ministry of Agriculture and Cooperatives
- 8. Ministry of Transport
- 9. Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment
- 10. Ministry of Information and Communication Technology
- 11. Ministry of Energy
- 12. Ministry of Commerce
- 13. Ministry of Interior
- 14. Ministry of Justice
- 15. Ministry of Labour
- 16. Ministry of Culture
- 17. Ministry of Science and Technology
- 18. Ministry of Education
- 19. Ministry of Public Health
- 20. Ministry of Industry

Regarding the **Ministry of Education**, the 1999 National Education Act and its 2002 Amendment as well as the 2003 Act for Streamlining of Ministries and Governmental Agencies mandate the amalgamation of the 3 ministries and agency responsible for education, namely, Ministry of Education, Ministry of University Affairs, and Office of the National Education Commission into a single Ministry of Education with a new administrative structure.

The Administrative Organization of the Ministry of Education Act of B.E. 2546(2003) has been approved by the Joint Standing Committee of the House of Representatives and the Senate, the new structure of the Ministry of Education therefore comprises 5 major offices and a unit as follows:

1. Office of the Permanent Secretary with the Permanent Secretary (level 11) serving as chief executive; the Office comprises the following bureaus:

Bureau of General Administration Bureau of Policy and Strategy Bureau of International Cooperation Bureau of Legal Affairs Bureau of Inspection and Evaluation Office of the Teacher Civil Service Commission Office of the Private Education Commission Office of the Non-Formal Education Commission Bureau of Information and Communication Technology Bureau of Scout Movement, Red Cross Youth and Student Affairs Institute for Development of Educational Administrators

2. Office of the Education Council with the Secretary-General of the National Education Council (level 11) serving as chief executive; the Office comprises the following bureaus/units:

Bureau of General Administration Bureau of Education Policy and Planning Bureau of Education Standards and Learning Development Bureau of Educational Research and Development Bureau of Education Administration Evaluation Bureau of Education Law Development Public Sector Development Division Office of the Chief Information Officer Internal Auditing Unit

3. **Office of the Basic Education Commission** with the Secretary-General of the Basic Education Commission (level 11) serving as chief executive; the Office comprises the following bureaus:

Bureau of General Administration Bureau of Policy and Planning Bureau of Academic Affairs and Educational Standards Bureau of Monitoring and Evaluation Bureau of Special Education Bureau of Personnel Administration Development and Legal Affairs Bureau of Finance Bureau of Finance Bureau of Educational Testing Bureau of Technology for Teaching and Learning Office of the Committee for Educational Service Area 4. **Office of the Higher Education Commission** with the Secretary-General of the Higher Education Commission (level 11) serving as chief executive; the Office comprises the following bureaus:

Bureau of General Administration Bureau of Policy and Planning Bureau of International Cooperation Strategy Bureau of Standards and Evaluation Bureau of Cooperation and Promotion Bureau of Student Development Bureau of Personnel Administration and Development Bureau of Community College Administration Bureau of Central Education Testing

5. Office of the Vocational Education Commission with the Secretary-General of the Vocational Education Commission (level 11) serving as chief executive; the Office comprises the following bureaus:

Bureau of General Administration

Bureau of Policy and Planning

Bureau of Cooperation with Private Sector

Bureau of Vocational Education Standards and Qualifications

Bureau of Personnel Competency Development

Bureau of Research and Development

Bureau of Monitoring and Evaluation

Office of the Minister with the chief of the Office of the Minister as chief executive; the Office comprises the following 3 units:

Unit of General Administration Unit of Political Relations

Unit of Academic Support

There are also 9 public organizations under the supervision of the Ministry of Education, namely:

Office for National Education Standards and Quality Assessment Kurusapa (Teachers Council of Thailand) Institute for the Promotion of Teaching Science and Technology International Institute for Trade and Development Mahidol Wittayanusorn School National Institute for Educational Testing Language Institute Institute for Development and Promotion of Teachers and Educational Personnel Office of Welfare Promotion for Teachers and Educational Personnel

There are also the National Institute of Technologies for Education and universities/autonomous higher education institutions which are under the aegis of the Ministry of Education.

The above 5 major offices emanating from the new administrative structure of the Ministry of Education report directly to the Minister without following the previous line of command through the Permanent Secretary.

The Bureau of International Cooperation (formerly External Relations Division), Office of the Permanent Secretary, assumes major responsibilities for international relations and cooperation. It also continues to serve as Secretariat of the Thai National Commission for UNESCO and Secretariat of the Thai National Commission for SEAMEO.

> Copyright & Copy 2000 : MOENet Thailand Service รวบรวม เรียบเรียง พัฒนาและนำแสนอไดย : กองการสัมพันธ์ค่างประเทศ สำนักงานปลัดกระทรวงศึกษาธิการ โทร. 281-0565 , 628-5646-9 โทรสาร 281-0953 ดิดต่อผู้ดูแลระบบ : <u>Bavornlith@hotmail.com/kusumlek@hotmail.com/</u> <u>weberd@emisc.moe.go.th</u>